Classification Of Herniated Discs


Cervical Herniated Disc

Jason was diagnosed with a C5-C6 herniated disc following a Fairfax car accident.

Our spine consists of 33 vertebrae. The first seven vertebrae, labeled C1-C7, are found in the neck. They are called cervical vertebrae and the spinal discs are called cervical discs.

Cervical disc herniations occur most frequently at the C5-C6 level and the C6-C7 level of the spine.

Thoracic Herniated Disc

The thoracic area of the spine is just below the cervical spine. The thoracic spine consists of 12 vertebrae, T1 - T12, found in the upper back.

Thoracic disc herniations are rare.

Lumbar and Sacral Herniated Disc

Paula was in a bad auto crash on I-395 south in Arlington, Virginia. She was rushed to Arlington Hospital were an MRI revealed a herniated disc at L5-S1.

The lumbar area of the spine is located in the low back. It consists of 5 vertebrae labeled from the top to the bottom, L1-L5.

The sacral area of the spine is below the lumbar region. It consists of 5 fused vertebrae. The most important sacral vertebrae is the first, labeled S1.

The junction between the last lumbar vertebrae, L5, and the first sacral vertebrae, S1, is called the lumbosacral junction and is abbreviated by physicians “LS.” The disc between these two vertebrae is called the “L5-S1” disc.

The most frequent disc herniations in the lumbosacral spine occur at the disc between the L4-L5 vertebrae and at the disc between the L5-S1vertebrae.

About Gerald Schwartz

Virginia herniated disc lawyer Gerald Schwartz has represented clients with herniated disc injuries from car accidents in Fairfax, Arlington and all across Northern Virginia for 30 years. Gerald Schwartz is a recognized “master advocate.”

Free Consultation

For a free consultation with Gerald Schwartz to discuss your spinal disc injury and learn your rights, call 1-800-423-0055.